My Job is never done! (Ugh, the list goes on…and on…and on…)

Hey people of the world (mainly parents but not limited to the rest of humankind), do you find yourself in a constant battle of chores? Do you seem to ALWAYS have something that needs to be done? Vacuuming up dog hair? Cleaning the counters AGAIN? Picking up your kids’ shoes, toys, crayons, dirty clothes, clean clothes, food wrappers, etc….. for the BAZILLIONTH time in a day? I feel your pain.

So here I am, spending another day staring at my disaster of a house after attempting to have some sense of order by putting stuff away and cleaning. I cook, I clean dishes, I vacuum up the ridiculous amount of dog hair from having 2 golden retrievers and a lab in the house, I mow the lawn, do laundry, clean toilets (with 3 humans of the male species living with me this is a gross undertaking), and on top of it all take care of my 3 kids and 3 dogs and still find energy to be pleasant with my hubs. Do I have feelings of frustration sometimes at all those loving little faces in my life? You betcha! Do I feel under appreciated sometimes? SOMETIMES?! Okay, it’s not often as I consider it my job but there are days…. But yesterday while mowing the lawn after stopping 20 times to break up fights between my 3 kids, catch 2 of the dogs that the aforementioned kids let out of the house into the front yard, and answer the phone, I was fuming. I was hot under my collar and it wasn’t just the hot sun beating down on my gloriously muscular traps. (See facebook post that my friends all made fun of me for.) I was pissed off. Thinking to myself “I do all this stuff, I bust my butt, take care of the house, the kids, the dogs, the bills, buy groceries, do pretty much everything dealing with hearth and home and family, save the small, miniscule thing of making money, and I don’t get any appreciation.” Okay, not true. My husband is awesome. Like ridiculous, makes you want to puke, makes other guys look bad, kind of awesome. He’s great, like seriously always says thanks for everything I do, helps when I ask and sometimes when I don’t and above all he works 7 days a week to provide us with a life of comfort and security. Does that stop me from being grouchy and ungrateful? Nope. I’m a jerk. But here’s the enlightening moment I had recently. There are times and will be times when I (and you) will do a crap load of things and get absolutely zero recognition for it. If you’re a parent this is a minute by minute occurence. But I remember once reading that while things will never be even, or fair, or reciprocated to the degree you have given and done we don’t do it for the notoriety, the recognition, the praise. Or at least we shouldn’t. We should solely do it for the glory of God. Am I right? No matter what we do for others, we will never get what we deem the right amount of thanks and appreciation for doing it. And most of the time we feel as though the people we do it for aren’t deserving. Instead, do it for God cause He is! Does God love me more for mowing the lawn? Probably not, although I’m sure the view from heaven looking down at those gorgeous lines make Him smile. But does my being a servant to others make Him happy and give Him glory? Absolutely! So when I get annoyed and frustrated and start feeling sorry for myself that I do and do and do for everyone and get zero appreciation I’ll try REALLY HARD to remember that I’m doing it for God and try REALLY HARD to be joyful about it. And honestly, it does make serving others a whole lot better when you have that shift in perspective. Can I get an amen? šŸ˜‰

Terminator out.

About terminatormom

I'm a part-time stay at home mom of 3 adorable (albeit, crazy) kids who decided after kid #2 to get healthy. I've done the gamut of workouts including videos, at home workouts, gyms, bootcamps, fitness classes, and the mother of all things rough and tough....crossfit. I love training and delving into the world of nutrition to better my health and the health of my family. I'm a nerd and make no apologies for my bad jokes and quirky sense of humor. Oh, and my friends call me the "Terminator".
This entry was posted in Daily Blogs (Courtesy of your friendly Terminator....thats me in case your were wondering.) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

