Crossfit Comp #2 “THE DUO” (A Partner Competition…yes, someone had to put up with me)

I realized I forgot to write about my second crossfit competition experience which was a partner competition! FORGIVE ME!!! Okay, really, I know you guys don’t particularly care about this stuff like I do but I’m still going to document it for future reference.

“The Duo” at Crossfit Artis.

My partner: David (a guy who puts up with my awful jokes every morning at 5:30am and still decided to be my partner.)

DSC02489

It was a 2 day event. Saturday and Sunday with the top 3 teams competing in the final Event.

Event 1: Both partners Squat clean every 15 seconds for 6 minutes (Men’s weight 135#, Women’s 95#) then if you complete all 24 squat cleans you have the 7th minute to complete as many hand release lateral barbell burpees as possible. I got 27. Team “Snatch and Sniff” (that’s me and David) came in 2nd in that event.

 

Event 2 and 3: Partner 1 (that was me) runs 1000m while Partner 2 (David) does as many squats possible for 15 seconds at the start of every minute until I get back then we switch. I got back in the fastest time out of all the heats and just so happened to tag him as the start of the minute began so I immediately started squatting. My judge was awesome, pushed me to get at least 16 squats.  Event 2 is fastest total time for both runs.
Event 3 is total reps air squats. We won those events.Megan_boyer_crossfit_4

Event 4: Men will go first and will have 6 minutes to complete:

3 Deadlifts, 225# 3 Pullups 6 DL 6 PU 9 DL 9 PU….And so on until death. Just kidding, only until their 6 minutes is up.
Women will go second and will have 6 minutes to complete:
1 Deadlift, 155# 1 Pullup 3 DL 3 PU 5 DL 5 PU…. And so on until their 6 minutes has ended.

 

DSC02262 DSC02270DSC02256DSC02290

 I think I ended up getting through 1/3/5/7/9 and 4 reps into 11 of the deadlifts but I’m pretty sure I blacked out during this one so I don’t know for sure.DSC02354

That was the end of Day 1. David and I were sitting in first place. Obviously. (Just kidding, I was very surprised. You know, cause David is a pansy. KIDDING! He’s kinda badass….kinda.)

 

Day 2!!! Feeling good! A little under pressure but, hey, that’s what competitions are about right?

Event 5:
50 Single Unders
40 KB Swings (1.5/1) For non-crossfitters it was 55lbs/35lbs
30 Shoulder to Overhead (115/75)
20 Sit ups
5 Wall Walks

I watched teams completely break down during the first 2 heats (We were 3rd heat) and while I wasn’t too worried about the workout, I started getting super scared….I mean, people were STRUGGLING with this. Fastest time I had to beat by the time I went was 6:10. Okay, I can do that, right?!??! YOU KNOW IT! 5:15!!!!!!  We got 1st in that event too.

Megan_Boyermegan_boyer_crossfitmegan_boyer_crossfit_3DSC02427DSC02393DSC02392

Top 3 teams competed in the Final Event……a 1 rep max snatch. My worst olympic lifting skill. Craptastic. Managed 105# but just wasn’t enough to make the top of the podium.

DSC02446DSC02427DSC02455megan_boyer_crossfit_2

We placed 2nd overall and I have to say, I was tickled with that. 🙂 It was fun, well-organized, and my partner was pretty fricken awesome. My family and friends came to cheer us on and take loads of pics and videos. Seriously, so amazing and I was so sore the following days, I hated crossfit. Like, really hated it for a few days. I got over that though. Back to training hard for my next comp over Labor Day weekend. YIKES!  DSC02497

About terminatormom

I'm a part-time stay at home mom of 3 adorable (albeit, crazy) kids who decided after kid #2 to get healthy. I've done the gamut of workouts including videos, at home workouts, gyms, bootcamps, fitness classes, and the mother of all things rough and tough....crossfit. I love training and delving into the world of nutrition to better my health and the health of my family. I'm a nerd and make no apologies for my bad jokes and quirky sense of humor. Oh, and my friends call me the "Terminator".
This entry was posted in Daily Blogs (Courtesy of your friendly Terminator....thats me in case your were wondering.) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crossfit Comp #2 “THE DUO” (A Partner Competition…yes, someone had to put up with me)

  1. Pingback: Megan Boyer Omaha NE Terminatormom |

Leave a Reply

